A
A
A
關於我們
社會影響

具社會影響力的研究:2005年至今

香港社會至今仍無法擺脫殖民地時期存在的種族位階遺風,在日常交往中,白人的待遇優於南亞人和非洲人。為此,人類學者對少數族裔社群進行了長期田野調查,對移民問題有了更細微的瞭解。

麥高登

由2005年起,麥高登在研究資助局的資助下(優配研究金項目編號448807),在四年時間里,每周花幾天時間住在香港的重慶大廈——一座位於世界中心的貧民窟——採訪其居民。此研究對非洲和南亞商人及尋求政治庇護者的生活進行考察,探討低端全球化如何運作。這項研究關注的不只是他們的經濟訴求(雖則這是他們來港的主要原因),還包括他們的想望、恐懼、宗教信仰和感情生活,藉此理解他們如何改變這座城市,反之亦然。他的研究改變了非洲人和南亞人在港的負面形象。

麥高登據此研究所得寫成《世界中心的貧民窟:香港重慶大廈》一書。此學術著作不單獲得兩項圖書獎,且廣受大眾歡迎,英文原版售出九千本,而中文版銷量更達二萬七千本。後來,他還提供開放取用的廣東話有聲書及編寫了一系列文章。他的努力改變了不同層級的持份者對少數民族和尋求政治庇護者的理解,亦影響了一些本港和國際媒體、立法會議員和非政府組織。

「低端全球化」是一個將中國和發展中國家交織在一起的過程,而麥高登是第一位學者指出重慶大廈的南亞人和非洲人在此過程中起的重要作用。由2007至11年,他的研究成果於CNN、CNBC、BBC、《經濟學人》和《時代雜誌》等主要國際出版物中發表,其中《時代雜誌》將重慶大廈稱為「全球一體化的最佳範例」。立法會議員李國麟亦於2013年11月的立法會會議上,引用了麥高登刊登在《時代雜誌》上的調查發現:「有120個不同民族的人住在重慶大廈!」,要求政府關注少數族裔的健康需要,以維持香港的國際定位。會議上最終通過了「制訂支援少數族裔長者的醫療政策」的議案,改進了少數族裔在公共醫療體系中的就醫條件,這些改善措施包括為病人提供口譯服務,以及為醫護人員提供文化培訓。

麥高登曾多次向公眾指出在港尋求政治庇護者所面臨的困境。2013年7月,立法會議員張超雄援引了他在美國有線電視新聞網(CNN)上發表的報告,要求立法會福利事務委員會與服務尋求政治庇護者的非政府組織舉行特別會議,討論「改善難民、酷刑聲請者及尋求政治庇護人士的境況的方法」。該報告秉承了麥高登對尋求政治庇護者處境的分析,並指出「這些人沒有辦法融入社會,也無從返家,困在悲慘的境況中苦苦掙扎⋯⋯」特別會議於 2014年1月13日舉行,一個月後政府同意將尋求庇護者的房屋、食物及交通津貼提高平均20%。經過廣泛的媒體報導,麥高登的研究亦為有關少數民族和尋求政治庇護者的政策指定提供了參考。此外,他在進行調研的同時,亦為尋求政治庇護者開設每週一次的英語會話課,過程中他曾協助一些尋求政治庇護者在海外獲批難民身份。

譚少薇

譚少薇的研究(2013-19)由中大知識轉移項目基金及平等機會委員會資助,主要研究在港南亞社群(包括印度裔、尼泊爾裔、巴基斯坦裔,斯里蘭卡裔及孟加拉國裔)的生活經驗和文化。同時,她亦考察了婦女群體及社區中的跨文化工作。此外,譚少薇的研究評估了公眾的跨文化敏感性,並檢視了跨文化體驗可如何增強他們的文化能力。由於女性往往在家庭、社區乃至整個社會層面扮演著變革者的角色,此研究特別關注南亞女性家務勞動者的情況。她的研究揭示了跨文化教育的重要性以及培養跨文化能力的途徑。

在知識轉移項目基金及平等機會委員會資助的資助下,譚少薇開展了多元文化行動(MIA)計畫,其中也涉及她對在港南亞社群的研究。與政府對少數族裔所採取的同化政策相反,她的項目旨在通過「培訓培訓者」的模式增強年輕人的跨文化能力。參加者首先在培訓工作坊中學習跨文化知識(例如夥伴關係和相互充權),然後再獲協助在學校和社區中開展他們自己設計的鄰捨創新項目。

MIA編寫了一系列培訓材料,包括四本有關不同少數族裔群體的小冊子(共發行了3,000冊)、兩本面向普通讀者的出版物——《我們正在慶祝什麼:香港的多元文化節》(售出1,600冊)及《ICONIC媽媽廚房:跨文化香港滋味》(發行800冊)、紀錄片「南亞心。情」和「跨文化媽媽學堂」(線上點擊率超過1,000次的),以及其他線上資源(多元文化行動網站點擊率超過4,000次)。 最終用戶包括教育工作者、公務員、非政府組織和商界人士。

2013至19年間,來自不同族裔背景的120多人接受了文化導師培訓,並在學校和社區進行演講。超過13,000名公眾人士(包括老師及學生)曾參與以上培訓工作坊及外展活動。多元文化行動於舉辦跨文化活動後亦有蒐集參與者的活動回饋,調查結果顯示超過75%的中學生(n = 1,305)認為外展活動提高了他們的跨文化能力。公共部門中有43名督察及警司參加了培訓工作坊,而調查顯示當中將近90%的參與者(n = 43)感到他們的跨文化能力因此提升。在警察學院舉辦的培訓工作坊的一名督導員表示:「參加者更好地瞭解本港少數族裔後,便能把這些知識帶回到其所屬工作場所。」

此外,一個有關南亞運動卡巴迪的鄰舍項目在2018年獲得社創基金100,000港元的撥款。該項目名稱為香港卡巴迪聯盟(KUHK),而它目前已發展成一家社會企業,旨在通過卡巴迪促進香港的種族共融。在MIA的建議和協助下,KUHK於2014-19年間已在50多間學校和社區中開展卡巴迪項目,參與人數達2500人。 KUHK僱用了一名全職員工和超過20名兼職員工,其中不少是少數族裔。KUHK的創始人說:「多元文化行動的研究提出了三點於跨文化項目中特別重要的價值觀⋯⋯我們在項目中採用了這些價值觀,並組成了強大的跨文化團隊⋯⋯MIA設計了一套現成的教材,用於教授跨文化能力,這套教材適用於不同對象⋯⋯這大大拓寬了我們的服務範圍。」

鄭詩靈

2012年,在香港愛滋病信託基金的支持下,鄭詩靈同香港大學的黃志威醫生及一個跨學科團隊合作,開展了一項有關在港非裔尋求政治庇護者和難民的精神健康研究。研究為期18個月,方法為參與式觀察及協調調查式研究,共接觸了373名非裔尋求政治庇護者和難民,接近該群體總人口的50%。2015-16年間,她獲得研究資助局的資助(優配研究金項目編號14607415),繼續對尋求庇護者和難民進行研究,重點研究尋求庇護者與香港本地居民的親密關係。2017-18年,何鴻毅家族基金資助她開展一個向本地學校和社區介紹非洲藝術的項目。她的研究成功地讓更多人明白尋求政治庇護者和難民正處於水深火熱之中,並讓非政府組織、政府機構、司法機構和廣大公眾瞭解他們最基本的需求。

鄭詩靈和她的團隊獲得了愛滋病信託基金的資助,研究來自非洲的尋求政治庇護者、難民和酷刑聲請者在香港的健康習慣、問題和需求。2014年,一名酷刑聲請者因非法工作而在東區裁判法院被起訴(案例ESCC 1139/2014),司法機構在該案的專家報告中亦援引了鄭詩靈的研究結果去為其辯護。

何鴻毅家族基金於2017至2018年間資助鄭詩靈為本港大學生籌辦非洲文化工作坊,以及與非政府組織合作,為中學生及公眾舉辦社區外展活動。這些活動廣受歡迎:29名學生參與工作坊,超過600人參加了社區活動。參與者特別欣賞跨文化合作,其中一位擔任文化培訓者的中學生表示:「透過這次(到中學的)外展活動,我感到學生都走出了自己保護殼,全心享受非洲鼓和舞蹈的樂趣。學生、非裔導師和我自己都能沈浸在樂趣和誠意之中,這讓我十分滿足。」

研究過程讓鄭詩靈更認識非裔尋求政治庇護者和難民。於2016年她協助他們成立了一支名為「才飄八斗」的樂隊,並每月為他們安排在酒吧、大學、音樂節或政府資助活動表演的機會。樂隊演奏的音樂風格多樣,包括嘻哈、說唱、非洲鼓等。參與樂隊的經驗改善了隊員的社會及文化福利;其中一位隊員曾說:「(鄭詩靈)發掘了我們的音樂才華⋯⋯(又)向公眾推廣我們的音樂。我們有機會表演我們的音樂⋯⋯並與聽眾分享愛與和平的信息。香港的主要報紙都報導了我們的故事。這改變了公眾對尋求政治庇護者的印象。」

陳如珍

陳如珍的研究強調了菲律賓家務移工在維持香港社會中所扮演的不可或缺的角色。由於家務移工的勞動絕大多數在香港家庭的私人領域進行,因此她們的工作很大程度上隱沒於公眾視野之中,這亦讓香港社會視她們的重要貢獻為理所當然。然而,陳如珍的研究揭示了她們的生活,指出她們的勞動價值是毋庸置疑的。家庭再生產是正規經濟生產的必要條件,換言之,正常運行的國家經濟建基於正常運作的家庭。事實上,正是仰賴家務移工的貢獻,他們的雇主才能充分參與正規的貨幣經濟。家務移工作為香港經濟的底層勞動者,身體力行地「再生產」了這座城市,讓其持續「正常」運轉。

在對移工於休息日舉辦的選美比賽的研究中,陳如珍發現她們與這城市上的其他居民並沒什麼不同。如同所有工人,她們一樣需要休息、娛樂、獲得認可和維持尊嚴的時間和空間。藉此研究,她試圖讓香港人更加瞭解香港家庭傭工的生活狀況;同時,也讓香港市民認識到她們是香港社會中值得尊敬的一員。

鄧偉文

鄧偉文的博士論文以尼泊爾青年的毒品使用情況為主題,探討服用海洛英與香港第二及第三代尼泊爾人之間的關係。由當時起,鄧偉文的學術研究就一直以在港南亞群體的狀況為主軸。

隨後,鄧偉文參與了由中大知識轉移基金及平等機會委員會支持、譚少薇開展的多元文化行動(MIA)計畫。當中,鄧偉文除調查在港南亞群體的生活狀況外,亦協助出版旨在提升文化能力的教材,包括四本有關不同少數族裔群體的小冊子(共發行了3,000冊)及其他線上資源(多元文化行動網站點擊率超過4,000次)。這些材料的最終用戶包括教育工作者、公務員、非政府組織和商界人士。

鄧偉文完成博士研究後,投入了南亞運動卡巴迪,並將之轉化為其研究興趣。他的研究主要集中在兩個方面:(一)卡巴迪運動在全球發展所涉及的文化政治,及(二)卡巴迪運動在香港作為跨文化教育的一種手段。為了親身探索第二點,鄧偉文在本港中學及社區教授卡巴迪。最近,他亦獲得中大直接資助計劃撥款(項目編號:143959537),研究卡巴迪在本港中學體育課程中所帶來的跨文化影響。

私隱政策 免責聲明
香港中文大學人類學系 @2021. 版權所有

A
A
A
About Us
Social Impact

Examples of Socially Impactful Research: 2005 - present

Hong Kong society has long adhered to the racial hierarchy practiced in the colonial period, with white people treated better than South Asians and Africans in everyday interactions. In response to this, anthropology researchers have carried out long-term ethnographic fieldwork on these communities and provided a more nuanced understanding of migrant issues.

Gordon Mathews

With the support of an RGC grant (GRF project no. 448807) beginning in 2005, Gordon Mathews spent several days a week over four years living in Chungking Mansions, a developing-world center in Hong Kong, to interview its residents. The research explored how low-end globalization worked, involving an examination of the lives of African and South Asian traders, merchants, and asylum seekers. The research focused not only on their economic preoccupations, the primary reason for their being in Hong Kong, but also took issue with their hopes, fears, religious beliefs, and romantic lives to understand how they were changing Hong Kong and vice versa. His research has transformed the negative image of Africans and South Asians in Hong Kong.

Gordon’s widely acclaimed book Ghetto at the Center of the World, sold 9,000 copies in English and 27,000 copies in Chinese and received two book awards for the work. An open-access audiobook was also made available in Cantonese, along with a series of articles. These efforts changed the understandings of ethnic minorities and asylum seekers by stakeholders at multiple levels, affecting local and international media, legislative councillors, and NGOs.

Gordon was the first scholar to point out the importance of South Asians and Africans in Chungking Mansions to the low-end globalization which connected China to the developing world. His work was featured in key international publications like CNN, CNBC, BBC, The Economist, and Time Magazine from 2007 to 2011. Based on this work, Time Magazine referred to Chungking Mansions as the “Best Example of Globalization in Action”, and legislator Joseph Lee, at a legislative council meeting in November 2013, cited Gordon’s findings in Time magazine – “people of 120 nationalities have lived in Chungking Mansions” – to prompt the government to maintain the international orientation of the city by addressing the health-related needs of ethnic minorities.A motion on “Formulating a Medical Policy to Support Ethnic Minority Elderly People” was passed at the meeting, resulting in improved accessibility for ethnic minorities to the public healthcare system. These improvements include the provision of interpretation services for patients as well as cultural training for healthcare personnel.

Gordon has pointed out to many public audiences the difficult situation faced by asylum seekers in Hong Kong. In July 2013, legislator Fernando Cheung cited a report on Gordon’s work presented on CNN to request the Panel on Welfare Services of the Legislative Council to hold a special meeting with NGOs serving asylum seekers to discuss “ways to improve the situation of refugees, torture claimants and asylum seekers in Hong Kong.” This report adhered to Gordon’s analysis of the situation of asylum seekers and stated, “with no way to join society and no way to return home, these survivors languish in miserable situations…A special meeting was held on 13 January 2014, and one month after the meeting, the administration agreed to increase the level of social benefits to asylum seekers by an average of 20% on rent, transportation allowance, and food provisions. Through extensive media coverage, Gordon’s work has informed policy formulations concerning ethnic minorities and asylum seekers. Additionally, in the course of his research and teaching of a weekly class for asylum seekers, he has helped some asylum seekers to attain refugee status overseas.

Maria Tam

Maria Tam’s research (2013-19) was funded by the University’s Knowledge Transfer Project Fund (KPF) and Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) grants and involved the study of the living experiences and cultures of South Asian communities in Hong Kong, namely, the Indian, Nepali, Pakistani, Sri Lankan, and Bangladeshi communities. A study on intercultural work among women’s communities and in neighborhoods was also undertaken. Additionally, Maria’s research assessed the public’s cross-cultural sensibilities and examined how intercultural experiences could enhance their cultural competencies. The research paid special attention to the circumstances of South Asian female homemakers since women often play the role of change agents on the levels of family, neighborhood, and society in general. Her research has shed light on the importance of intercultural education as well as the pathways to developing intercultural competency.

Maria received grants from KPF and EOC to launch her “Multiculturalism in Action” (MIA) projects, involving her research on South Asian communities in Hong Kong. In contrast to the assimilative policy adopted by the government towards ethnic minorities, her projects aim at enhancing intercultural competency among young people using a train-the-trainers model. Participants were first introduced to the concept of interculturalism (e.g. partnership and mutual empowerment) in training workshops and then facilitated to run their neighborhood innovation projects in schools and communities.

MIA has developed a series of training materials: four booklets on different ethnic minority groups (with a total of 3,000 copies given out), two publications for general readers (i.e. What are We Celebrating: Multicultural Festivals in Hong Kong with 1,600 copies sold and The ICONIC Mums Kitchen: Taste of Intercultural Hong Kong with 800 copies given out), two documentary films (Feeling South Asian and Intercultural Mums Classroom with more than 1,000 hits online), and other online resources (the MIA website with 4,000+ hits). The end-users include educators, civil servants, NGOs, and businesspeople.

Between 2013 and 2019, over 120 individuals from various ethnic backgrounds were trained as cultural trainers. They subsequently proceeded to make presentations in schools and communities. Over 13,000 members of the public, including teachers and students, have participated in these activities, including training workshops and outreach activities. Feedback has been collected after conducting these intercultural activities. Post-event surveys show that more than 75% of secondary school students (n=1,305) found their intercultural competency improved by the outreach activities. Among workers in the public sector, 43 inspectors and superintendents in the Police Force attended the intercultural training workshops, and the surveys showed that nearly 90% of the participants from the Police Force (n=43) felt that their intercultural competency had improved. The facilitator of the workshop at the Police College commented, “after getting a better understanding of Hong Kong ethnic minorities, the participants will bring the knowledge back to their workplace.”

Furthermore, one of the community projects concerning the South Asian sport kabaddi received a Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund for HK$100,000 in 2018. The project is called Kabaddi United Hong Kong (KUHK). It has been developed as a social enterprise with the aim of promoting ethnic integration through kabaddi in Hong Kong. With the advice and assistance of MIA, KUHK has run kabaddi programs in more than 50 schools and communities with a total of 2,500 participants from 2014-19. KUHK has employed one full-time staff and more than 20 part-time staff, many of whom are ethnic minorities. The founders of KUHK said, “the research of MIA has formulated three values which are particularly important in intercultural projects … We have adopted these values in our project and formed a strong intercultural teamThe research of MIA has designed a ready-to-use teaching kit to teach intercultural competency and this kit is adaptable for different usersThis has significantly widened the scope of our service”.

Sealing Cheng

Sealing Cheng’s research project, which involved a collaboration with William Wong from the University of Hong Kong along with an interdisciplinary team, was supported by a grant received from the Hong Kong AIDS Trust Fund in 2012. It studied the mental health of African asylum seekers and refugees in Hong Kong by conducting 18 months of participant-observation and coordinating survey-based research that reached 373 African asylum seekers and refugees, close to 50% of the total population. From 2015-16, she continued her research on African asylum seekers and refugees with an RGC fund (GRF project no. 14607415) that focused on the intimate relationships between asylum seekers and local Hong Kong residents. In 2017-18, she was awarded a Robert H. N. Ho Foundation fund to conduct a project to introduce African arts to local schools and communities. Her research has successfully raised awareness of the “in limbo” status of asylum seekers and refugees, informing NGO groups, government institutions, the judiciary, and the wider public about their most fundamental needs.

Sealing and her team received grants from the AIDS Trust Fund to research the health practices, problems, and needs of asylum seekers, refugees, and torture-claimants (ASRs) from Africa in Hong Kong. In 2014, the report was used by the judiciary in an Expert Report for a case at the Eastern Magistrate’s Court (Case ESCC 1139/2014) in support of a torture claimant being prosecuted for unlawful employment.

In 2017-18, Sealing received a grant from the Robert H. N. Ho Foundation fund to develop cultural workshops on Africa in Hong Kong for university students and to collaborate with NGOs to conduct community outreach activities for secondary school students and the public. The activities were well received, with 29 students attending the workshops and more than 600 participants attending the community events. The participants particularly appreciated the intercultural collaboration. One participant who played the role of cultural trainer to secondary school students said, “Through this outreach [to a secondary school], I felt like the students were coming out of their shells and enjoying learning African drumming and dancing. The fun and sincerity that I see in the students, African mentors, and myself was rewarding”.

Sealing’s research has also resulted in herself playing a pivotal role in setting up a band called “Talent Displaced” in 2016, with members including African ASRs. The band plays a variety of music genres, including hip-hop, rap, and African drums. With her assistance, the band had the opportunity to perform about one show a month at bars, universities, music festivals, and government-sponsored events. This has helped improve the social and cultural well-being of band members. One band member said, “[CHENG] uncovered our music talents…[and] introduced our music to the public. We have got opportunities to perform our music…and shared the message of love and harmony with the audience. Major newspapers in Hong Kong have covered our stories. This has changed the public perception of asylum seekers”.

Chen Ju-chen

Chen Ju-chen’s research highlights the indispensable role that Filipina domestic workers play in maintaining Hong Kong society. Her research has thrown light on the lives of these workers, whose critical contributions to Hong Kong society are typically taken for granted. The labour they perform overwhelmingly takes place in the private domain of Hong Kong households, so their work largely remains hidden from public view. Yet the value of their labour contributions is without question, for household reproduction is the necessary condition for formal economic production. Functioning households are imperative for the operation of national economies. Indeed, it is the contributions of foreign domestic workers to the city’s households that their employers, in turn, can participate fully in the formal monetary economy. It is in this literal sense of labouring to reproduce the necessary conditions of what seems normal in Hong Kong that domestic workers can be considered under-labourers of Hong Kong’s economy.   

In her research on Filipina beauty pageants that take place on their day-off on Sundays, Ju-chen reveals Filipina domestic workers to be no different from the rest of the city’s population. Like all workers, they need time and space for rest, re-creation, recognition, and dignity. Ju-chen’s research has sought to make Hong Kongers more aware of the life-situation of domestic workers in Hong Kong. It has also brought about the Hong Kong public’s recognition of them as deserving members of Hong Kong society.

Tang Wai-man

Tang Wai-man’s academic research has focused on the conditions of South Asian communities in Hong Kong. This began with his PhD dissertation project on drug-use among Nepali youth, specifically, on the relationship between heroin-use and second and third-generation Nepalis in Hong Kong.

Wai-man was subsequently involved in the Multiculturalism in Action (MIA) project, which was funded by the University’s Knowledge Transfer Project Fund (KPF) and Equal Opportunities Commission grants and led by Maria Tam (https://www.arts.cuhk.edu.hk/~ant/about/social-impact/). Wai-man contributed to the study of the living conditions of South Asian communities in Hong Kong and the publication of the following cultural-competency training materials: four booklets on different ethnic minority groups (with a total of 3,000 copies given out) and other online resources (the MIA website with 4,000+ hits). Educators, civil servants, NGOs, and businesspeople were among the end-users of these materials.

Wai-man’s current research is concerned with the South Asian sport of kabbadi, an interest that began shortly after he completed his PhD studies. His research focuses on two elements: (i) the cultural politics involved in the growth of kabbadi around the world, and (ii) the deployment of kabbadi as a means for inter-cultural education in Hong Kong. For the latter purpose, Wai-man teaches kabbadi in Hong Kong’s secondary schools as well as in the community. He has recently received the CUHK’s Direct Grant (Project code: 143959537) to study the intercultural impact of kabbadi in the physical education curriculum of Hong Kong’s secondary schools.

Privacy Policy Disclaimer
Department of Anthropology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Copyright @2021. All Rights Reserved.