Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme

The Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme aims to attract the outstanding students from across the world to pursue their PhD degree programmes in Hong Kong’s institutions.

The Fellowship provides a monthly stipend of HK$26,600 (approx. US$3,410) and a conference and research-related travel allowance of HK$13,300 (approx. US$1,700) per year for a maximum period of three years. For awardees with a normative study period of 4 years, CUHK will offer the award at the same level for the fourth year.

The CUHK Vice-Chancellor HKPFS Scholarship

  • offers tuition wavier to HKPFS awardees for their whole normative study period effective from the 2019-20 intake.  The on-campus hostel fee will be waived in the first year of study.  Applicable from the 2021-22 intake, the Scholarship provides HKPFS awardees with an award for lodging of HK$40,000 (approx. US$5,130) in the first year of study and HK$20,000 in the subsequent years within the normative study period.

CUHK guarantees on-campus accommodation during the normative study period to HKPFS awardees who submit timely applications.  The on-campus hostel fee will be waived in the first year of study (starting from the 2019-20 intake).

(* In lieu of the CUHK Vice-Chancellor HKPFS Scholarship, a tuition waiver will be provided to local HKPFS awardees during their normative study period under the Tuition Waiver Scheme for Local Research Postgraduate (RPg) Students.)

For the 2020/21 academic year, about 250 PhD Fellowships will be awarded across all disciplines and universities in Hong Kong. The Anthropology Department has been quite successful in attracting candidates able to win the PhD Fellowship. One entered the Department in 2011, one entered the Department in 2012, one entered the Department in 2018, two entered the Department in 2019 and another 2 entered the Department in 2020.

Deadline for applications to 2022/23 entry:

To submit an initial application to RGC: By 12 noon, 1 December 2021 (Hong Kong time); and

To submit full application to CUHK: By 5 pm, 1 December 2021 (Hong Kong time).

Please refer to HKPFS page for more details.

Privacy Policy Disclaimer
Department of Anthropology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Copyright @2022. All Rights Reserved.